top of page

Body dysmorphia



Did you know?


Body dysmorphia affects at least 2% of the population in the UK (NHS, 2022). It is a universal, genderless and ageless struggle.


Body dysmorphic disorder (BDD), or body dysmorphia, is a mental health condition where a person spends a lot of time worrying about flaws in their appearance. These flaws are often unnoticeable to others. People of any age can have BDD, but it's most common in teenagers and young adults.


Now, from a very personal point of view, body dysmorphia has affected my mental health, but also the one of my entourage. It always feels extremely difficult to explain to a loved one that it does not matter how many times a day they tell you how beautiful you are. I do not feel it.


What I am learning though, is to be kind to myself. It is okay to feel not worthy at times, and I shouldn't beat myself up because I don't feel pretty. It is okay. I am learning to be nice to my body, the one that keeps me alive, allows me to walk, run, dance, sing, love.


Be kind to yourself today,

Sheherazade


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page